BROOKER, JOHN RAYMOND – age 68, of Knoxville passed away Friday afternoon, July 4, 2008 at his home, surrounded by his family, after a long battle with cancer. John was a very faithful and active member of West End Church of Christ. He loved leading the singing at the church. John was retired from the University of Tennessee after a 33 year career as a Professor of Agricultural Economics. Dr. Brooker received many awards and recognitions for all of his dedication and hard work. He was currently serving as a full time grandfather.

His parents, Layton and Johnnie Brooker, preceded John in death. He is survived by his wife of 47 and 1/2 years and the love of his life, Judith A. Brooker; daughters, Debbie Parker of Concord, Kim Bearden and husband Russell of Lenoir City; grandchildren, David and Billy Bearden, Staci and Sheri Parker; brothers, Robert Brooker and wife, Merriam of Plantation, FL, David Brooker and wife, Dixie of Vero Beach, FL. The family will receive friends from 12 to 1:45 p.m. Monday at West End Church of Christ followed by funeral services at 2 p.m. with Minister Russell Cook officiating. Interment will follow in the Lake View Cemetery. In lieu of flowers, memorials may be made to India Mission Work, c/o Don Iverson, Banner Elk Church of Christ, P O Box 1413, Banner Elk, NC 28604. 

——-

An email sent to colleagues by my husband:

John meant so much to those of us who have been a part of this multi-state research committee, going back to the days when we were known as S-103 and S-290. John was chair of our committee for several years in the late 80’s and early 90’s, but he always provided “leadership” to our committee even in an unofficial capacity. His (and Judy’s) smile, wit, laughter, and humor always added a refreshing dimension to our meetings.
 
John was one of my favorite undergraduate professors and I remember vividly his classes. Throughout my days in graduate school and subsequent academic career, John became a mentor and, more importantly, my friend. He was largely responsible for my move back to Tennessee and his retirement during my tenure there left a big hole not only in the department, but in my heart.
 
I thank God for the time we had with John Brooker and the impact he had on my life personally. John was a believer and I know he is pain-free and rejoicing with our sovereign Lord as I write. But let us remember Judy and the entire Brooker family in our thoughts and prayers in the coming days.
 
I shall miss my friend.

