MoncivaisDiana Garcia-Moncivais
May 28, 1952 – December 4, 2007

Diana Garcia-Moncivais was called by her Heavenly father on Tuesday, December 4, 2007, after a lengthy bout with frontotemporal dementia. Memorial services are set for 10 a.m. Saturday, December 8 at Hill Country Bible Church N.W., 12124 Ranch Road 620 N. in Austin.

Diana was born May 28, 1952, in Lubbock, Texas. She was a very supportive wife and mother, having resided in Tuscon, Ariz., Chicago and Austin. She was extremely loyal and enjoyed her career with SBC Global until her illness. She also supported several doctors in Tuscon and Dr. All Dellasandro in Hoffman Estates, Ill.

Always selfless and thinking of her sons and family, Diana’s final wishes were to donate her body to science to further improve medical research.

She was preceded in death by her grandparents, Mr. and Mrs. Roman Hernandez, and father-in-law, Manuel Moncivais Sr.

Survivors include her husband, Manuel M. Moncivais; sons and daughter-in-law, Marc Moncivais and Noah E. and Hillary-Havelka Moncivais, all of Austin; parents, Mr. and Mrs. Eliseo C. Garcia of Lubbock; sisters and brothers-in-law, Helen and Bill Conway of Austin and Yvonne and Robert Rios of Arlington, Texas; brothers and sisters-in-law, Sammy and Deby Garcia of Lubbock, Noel and Linda Garcia of Red Oak, Texas, and Ruben Garcia of Dallas; mother-in-law, Sally Moncivais Garcia of Bryan; sisters-in-law, Dora Moncivais Garcia and husband, Valvin, of Allen, Texas, and Vivian Rini and husband, Andrew, of Plano, Texas; brother-in-law, Ralph Moncivais and wife, Mary, of Bryan; six nephews; eight nieces; three great-nieces; and one great-nephew whom she loved dearly.

Her family would like to thank all her friends and co-workers and especially the Servants on Standby (SOS Team) and the REALife group from Hill Country Bible Church. Also, thank-you to Carol Kiel at Austin Hospice; her loyal caregiver, Sylvia Resendez, who was a true blessing to us all; and to each and everyone who prayed throughout Diana’s courageous battle.

Donations may be made to Hill County Bible Church Community Service Fun, 12124 Ranch Road 620, Austin, Texas 78750.

March 14, 1999
To Remember Me
The day will come when my body will be upon a white sheet neatly tucked under corners of a mattress located in a hospital busily occupied with the living and the dying. At a certain moment, a doctor will determine that my brain has ceased to function and that, for all intents and purposes, my life has stopped.

When this happens, do not attempt to instill artificial life into my body by the use of a machine. Do not call this my deathbed! Let it be called the “Bed of Life” and let my body be taken from it to help others fuller lives.

Give my heart to a person whose heart has caused nothing but endless days of pain. Give my blood to the teenager who was pulled from the wreckage of his car, so that he might live to see grandchildren play. Give my kidneys to one who depends on a machine to exist from week to week. Take my bones, every muscle, every fiber and nerve in my body and find a way to make a crippled child walk.

Explore every corner of my brain. Take my cells, if necessary, and let them grow so that, someday, a speechless boy will shout at the crack of a bat and a deaf girl will hear the sound of rain against her window.

Give whatever is not used to science so that they may use it in studies to help others.

If you must bury something, let it be my faults, my weaknesses and all prejudice against my fellow man. Give my sins to the devil, give my soul to God.

If, by chance, you wish to remember me, do it with a kind deed or word to someone who needs it.

If you do all I have asked, I will live forever.

With all my love,
Diana Garcia-Moncivais
Published in The Bryan-College Station (TX) Eagle on 12/6/2007.

